Name:

Alexis Hoffstadter 

Hometown:

Chicago 

Language:

English 


 

About Me

 
   

Age you began skating/performing:

I began skating at 6 1/2 

Why did you start skating/performing?

I began skating with my after school day care because they took us on a field trip to the ice rink every friday afternoon. 

Performance/Skating achievements (Competitions/awards/tests):

Pairs: Top 10 at Nationals for three years in a row. Regional champions, Sectional silver medalists, passed through Senior Pair Test Singles: Artistic Recall Gold and Silver Medalist, passed through Senior Moves 

List your interests/hobbies/favorite pastime:

I really enjoy reading mystery books, playing sports (i.e soccer, ultimate frisbee, floor hockey, kickball), philanthropic work (I was part of a philanthropic sorority in both high school and college), theatre, scuba diving and skiing 

Role Model(s):

I love Scott Hamilton, Robin Williams and Michael Jackson 

Toughest Challenge (During your performance career):

I injured my knee in the middle of training for Nationals our first year. It was very tough for me because it was our first year, so it was not only mentally and emotionally challenging; it became physically challenging as well. 

Personal and professional goals:

Skating: I would love to perform at the opening ceremony for the Olympics and I would love to become a professional choreographer Career goals: I would like to go to law school 

Do you have any superstitions or pre-performance rituals?

I used to be very superstitious when I competed, but now I don't have many. I always tie my skates the same and I stand up and crack my ankles before I get on the ice. I guess it isn't so much a ritual, but I always have to stretch to make sure my body is prepared. 

What's the thing a lot of people don't know about you?

I have a twin brother. Most people don't know that about me because he does not ice skate. Many people don't know that I went to college and that I wanted to be an FBI agent either. 

What is your favorite memory on or off the ice/stage?

ON: My first year with the show we skated for a make a wish child. After the show she got to come back stage and meet us-it was so special for her it made me cry OFF: Standing with the honors students at my college graduation 

If you could be a professional athelete in any other sport, what would it be and why?

I would probably choose to be a professional soccer player. I love the adrenaline rush of the game. However, even though it may not be considered a "sport", I would love to be a singer/dancer. I wish that I could sing and I wish that I had more time to dance. I would love to even be a back up dancer. 

What is your most prized possession?

My family and my friends 

What does the future hold for you?

The future changes every day as it becomes the present. I would love to go back to school (probably law school), but I enjoy the travel and skating that are a part of my job now. 

Is there a particular cause that you support? Why?

I support St. Jude's Hospital and Make-a-wish foundation because these organizations are geared towards helping children with terminal illnesses. I also have a soft spot in my heart for the mentally handicapped and have considered doing advocacy work for the mentally ill as a career option. All too often they get mixed up in the legal system and don't have proper resources. Most of my college research was geared towards the legal system relative to the mentally handicapped. 

Are you a member of any professional associations, organizations, fraternities/sororities, etc.?

I am a member of Phi Sigma Sigma sorority and Phi Beta Kappa fraternity. I am a member of the Professional Skaters Association and Open Door Repertory Group (theatre group) 

Do you have any special skills (sewing, cooking, juggling, etc.)?

I don't know if I have any special skills, but I love to try new things. 


 

Life On The Road

 
   

What is it like to live on the road?

I love it on the road. The travel is amazing. I have gotten chances to go places I never would have imagined going. Even when we only have a couple days off, it is worth it. I love the chance that we get to meet new people from all over the world and see the differences in cultures. The down side is that obviously you miss your family and you live out of a suitcase, moving week to week, but I think it is worth it especially at this point in my life. The cast becomes your family and you get an education you can't pay for in schools. 

While on tour, what is your favorite thing to do during your free time?

I love to go on side trips and go sightseeing. It is really great when we are overseas and we get a week off at a time because it gives us the chance to go to places our tour isn't playing. 

How do you keep fit? (Music, routine, class)

I work as hard as I can in the show and I make sure I eat right. If we don't have many shows for the week, I will also go to the gym. 

What do you do for fun?

I love to go out to eat and I love to go out dancing. Depending on the places that we are in, I love to ski or go to the beach to surf or scuba dive. I also enjoy walking around the centers because you can usually get a feel for how different places are and see the different architecture. 

What are your tips for frequent travelers?

Travel light! I always carry too much and it is such a pain to try and manage it all. 

What item(s) can't you live without on the road?

It is very difficult to live without a computer. I broke mine this year, so I know from first hand experience how much I took mine for granted. However, it would be worse if I did not have a camera to capture all the memories of the places I have been. 

What have you learned by being on the road?

I have learned so much I don't even know where to begin. I think the most important thing I have learned is how to grow up and to have an understanding of the bigger world around you. You have to learn how to live outside of America and the things we are used to having. It is quite difficult at times, but it truly gives you an appreciation for home and for other countries. 


 

Being A Performer

 
   

What do you enjoy about performing?

The thing I love most about performing is the audience reaction. Thats when you know you have been successful at pulling the audience into the show and helped them to experience the story. I love watching the faces on little kids when they see us perform. It is absolutely priceless how happy they are. 

How would you describe your skating/performance style?

I would say I am very energetic and theatrical.  

What do you want the audience to get from your performance?

I just want the audience to be involved. When they get into the show, it fuels us to perform more and it makes the experience more enjoyable for both parties. I love getting off of the ice after a number and recalling what an audience member did in response to the show. 

What advice would you give to kids who have a dream/desire to do something like skating/performing?

Just enjoy it yourself. When you enjoy what you do, it is inspiring and it motivates you to go even further. It is also very apparent to the audience.  

If you weren't performing, what might you be doing for a living?

I think I will be performing my entire life. If it is not my job, than I imagine it will become my hobby. If I become a trial lawyer or an advocator, I hope to be litigating which is a form of performing as well. 


 

Feld Entertainment

 
   

What Feld production are you currently performing in?

Mickey & Minnie's Magical Journey 

What year did you join Feld Entertainment?

I first joined in 2002-2003, summer of 2004 and rejoined in April of 2006 

In what other Feld productions have you performed?

I have only performed on D-15  

How did you audition?

Toy Story came to chicago and we did a live audition after the show. We were too young at that point, so we had to wait until we both graduated high school. 

What did you do prior to joining Feld Entertainment

I competed on the amateur level with my pairs partner. I was on drill team, orchesis dance troup and I did a couple of theatre plays/musicals. 

What countries have you performed in while traveling with Feld Entertainment?

I have been through the United States, Canada, Central America (Guatemala, Ecuador, El Salvador), South America (Chile, Argentina, Brazil), South East Asia (Phillipines, Taiwan, Singapore, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia), and Europe (Greece, Croatia, Serbia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Germany, Denmark, Italy) 


 

Hometown Information

 
   

Where did you grow up?

Oak Park, Illinois 

What major city is it near?

Chicago, Illinois 

Hometown club where you trained:

DuPage FSC 

Who was your coach?

Patti Burns, Libby Scanlan, Michael Meyer and Oleg Vasiliev 

What High school/College did you attend, and if applicable, what degree did you receive?

Oak Park River Forest High School University of Illinois at Chicago (BA in Criminal Justice and a BA in Psychology)